Updates:Performance Highlights::2019-2020View Details
02222263478, 02222298885

Establishment / History

Bangladesh Association of Banks (BAB) is an advisory service organization for the private sector commercial banks. It has now emerged as an effective forum for exchanging views on problems being faced by the banking sector of Bangladesh and for formulating common policy guidelines in addressing such problems.

Established under Companies Act- 1913, BAB started its activities in 1993 with 9 (nine) Private Commercial Banks which increased to 38 at the end of the year 2018.


The name of the sponsor member banks are as follows:

  • Al Baraka Bank Ltd
  • Arab Bangladesh Bank Ltd.
  • Islami Bank Bangladesh Ltd.
  • The City Bank Ltd.
  • IFIC Bank Ltd.
  • National Bank Ltd.
  • Pubali Bank Ltd.
  • United Commercial Bank Ltd.
  • Uttara Bank Ltd

The first meeting of the General Body of BAB was held on December 12, 1993 in Hotel Sheration. Commodore M.A. Rahman (Retd.), Chairman, IBBL presided over the meeting. In the meeting an Executive Committee was formed representing the different member banks. The following members were present (in alphabetical order): in the meeting.

  • Mr. Amanullah Miah, Chairman, Al Baraka Bank Ltd.
  • M. Morshed Khan, Chairman, Arab Bangladesh Bank Ltd.
  • Mr. Deen Mohammad, Chairman, The City Bank Ltd.
  • Mr. Jahurul Islam, Chairman, IFIC Bank Ltd.
  • Commodore M.A. Rahman (Retd.), Chairman, Islami Bank Bangladesh Ltd.
  • Mr. A. R. Mallik, Chairman, National Bank Ltd.
  • Mr. E. A. Chowdhury, Chairman, Pubali Bank Ltd.
  • Mr. M. A. Kalam, Chairman, United Commercial Bank Ltd.
  • Mr. A.N. Anisuzzaman Khan, Chairman, Uttara Bank Ltd.

The Management of BAB is vested in its Executive Committee. The Chairman and the Vice Chairmen of BAB are elected by the Member of Executive Committee. The Executive Committee consists of nominees from the member Banks, each Bank may nominate one member. The term of such Executive Committee is for two years.